Authorities, Boards, Commissions & Committees

Authorities, Boards, Commissions and Committees provide an opportunity for Township residents to be actively involved with local government. As appropriate under applicable Second Class Township Code articles and other state laws, the Board of Supervisors appoint elected officials, appointed officials and Township residents to represent the Township on the Authorities, Boards, Commissions and Committees described below.

If you would like to be considered for appointment to a current or future open position, please complete the Volunteer Position Application

Representatives for Authorities, Boards, Commissions and Committees

Buffalo Valley Recreation Authority (BVRA)
The Buffalo Valley Recreation Authority has twelve (12) members; consisting of four (4) resident representatives from East Buffalo Township, four (4) resident representatives from Kelly Township, and four (4) from Lewisburg Borough. All members are appointed by their respective municipalities for five (5) year staggered terms. The mission of the Buffalo Valley Recreation Authority (BVRA) is to provide comprehensive, year-round, recreation programs for people of all ages and abilities.

Buffalo Valley Regional Police Commission (BVRPD)
Oversight of the Buffalo Valley Regional Police Department is provided by a five (5) member Police Commission, consisting of two representatives from East Buffalo Township and two representatives from Lewisburg Borough, each serving two year staggered terms; and one at-large member, whose appointment alternates between the two municipalities. Each municipality, on an annual basis, also appoints one alternate member, who may take part in meeting discussions but does not have voting authority unless substituting for an absent Commission Member.

Central Keystone Council Of Governments (CK-COG)
The Board of Supervisors appoints one (1) representative to a three (3) year term. The Central Keystone Council of Governments administers all building permits and Code inspections within East Buffalo Township.

Central Susquehanna Fire & Emergency Services Department

William Cameron Engine Company (WCEC)
The William Cameron Engine Company provides fire prevention, control, extinguishment, and emergency medical services to all areas within East Buffalo Township. The Municipal and Community Advisory Committee (MACAC) was formed by William Cameron Engine Company in March 2013. The result was the formation of the Central Susquehanna Fire & Emergency Servies Department, an oversight Board comprised of appointed officals from East Buffalo Township, Kelly Township and Lewisburg Borough. The EBT Board of Supervisors appoints one representative and one alternate; each serves a one (1) year term.

Lewisburg Area Joint Sewer Authority (LAJSA)
The LAJSA serves East Buffalo Township and the Lewisburg Borough. The East Buffalo Township Board of Supervisors appoints five (5) members to five (5) year staggered terms. LAJSA attempts to resolve problems related to the community’s sewer needs and assists in planning and obtaining financing for the acquisition or construction of public sewer systems.

Pension Advisory Committee
This committee is comprised of four (4) members, who are appointed annually by the Board of Supervisors. Members include the Chairman of the Board of Supervisors, the pension plan advisor, one (1) employee representative and one (1) East Buffalo Township citizen representative. The committee meets at least once annually to review all township pension plans and make recommendations to the Board of Supervisors for changes, as needed.

Planning Commission (EBT PC)
The seven (7) members of the Planning Commission serve four (4) year staggered terms. The Commission develops and recommends Zoning Ordinance, an official map, and Subdivision and Land Development Ordinance to the Board of Supervisors for adoption. The Commission also reviews and recommends approval/denial of subdivision and land development applications to the Board of Supervisors.

Vacancy Board
If the Board of Supervisors fails to fill a vacancy of a position of Supervisor, tax collector or auditor within the prescribed limit, then the vacancy board fills the vacancy within 15 additional days by appointing a qualified person. The vacancy board consists of the board of supervisors and one (1) registered voter of the township who is appointed by the board and acts as the chairman of the Vacancy Board.

Zoning Hearing Board
Three (3) Members of the Zoning Hearing Board serve three (3) year staggered terms. This quasi-judicial Board consists of residents of the Township who may not hold any other elected or appointed Township position. The Board hears appeals on zoning ordinances, zoning map or any decision of the zoning officer and has the power to grant variances and special exceptions to the zoning ordinance. The Board of Supervisors also appoints a Zoning Hearing Board attorney. The Zoning Hearing Board meets at the Municipal Building at 589 Fairground Road, Lewisburg, PA 17837 on an as needed basis.